

THEMIS 2018 COMPETITION

AGENDA

SEMI-FINAL B

EU and European Family Law

7-9 May 2019 Thessaloniki, Greece

The National School of Judiciary Ikaron, Kalamaria 551 32, Greece



BACKGROUND

EJTN THEMIS Competition is a competition with a unique format, opened to judicial trainees from across Europe and aiming to exchange views and develop new approaches on topics related to international civil and criminal cooperation, human rights and judicial deontology.

The competition is opened to judicial trainees from all training institutions who are members or observers of EJTN. Teams of three judicial trainees accompanied by one teacher/tutor may enroll in the competition which consists of four semi-finals and a grand-final. The official language of the competition is English.

The jury of the competition is chosen from a pool of experts appointed by EJTN Members, that are well-regarded professionals in the field of the given semi-

final/final. As a general rule, experts must not have the same nationality as the competing team they will have to assess.

The jury members assessed the overall quality and the originality, the critical thinking and the anticipation of future solutions, the reference to relevant case law, but also the communication skills and the consistency.

Each semi-final had three stages: a written paper on a topic relevant for the subject of the semi-final, an oral presentation of that paper and a discussion with the jury. The maximum number of teams participating in a semi-final is eleven. The winner and runner up of each semi-final will enter the grand-final, consequently there are eight teams in the grand-final. The prize for the winning team is a one-week study visit, organised and financed by EJTN, in any European judicial institution.

AGENDA

Tuesda	Tuesday 7 MAY 2019				
08:15	Arrival and Registration of Participants 08:15 - Departure from the meeting point (Bus parking of the Electra Palace Hotel) to the venue				
		Petros ALIKAKOS, National School of the Judiciary			
09:00	Opening Ceremony	Wojciech POSTULSKI, EJTN Secretary General			
		Arno VINKOVIC, EJTN			
09:15	Lecture : European Family Law	Spyridon TSANTINIS, National School of the Judiciary			
10:00	Group photo & Coffee Break				
		Arno VINKOVIC, EJTN			
10:30	Presentation of Rules & Jury Introduction	Jury members: Petros ALIKAKOS Maarja TORGA Adrienn VÁRAI-JEGES			
10:45	Presentation and discussion – Team ROMANIA	Maria COJOCARU Adriana-Denisa BOSOANCĂ Beatrice-Maria BÎŢIC Tutor: Amelia ONIȘOR			
12:00	Coffee Break				
12:15	Presentation and discussion – Team PORTUGAL I	Maria Raquel NEVES Ana Gabriela ASSUNÇÃO Geraldo RIBEIRO Tutor: Chandra GRACIAS			
13:30	Lunch				
14:30	Presentation and discussion – Team BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA	Azra ĆURIĆ Boris CVITANOVIĆ Darko SOLDAT Tutor: Slavica ČINDRAK			
16:00	End of Day 1				

GUIDED TOUR OF THESSALONIKI – offered by the National School of JudiciaryDeparture from the <u>meeting point</u> (Bus parking of the Electra Palace Hotel)

Wedn	esday 8 MAY 2019	
08:15	Arrival and Registration of Participants 08:15 - Departure from the meeting point (Bus parking of the Electra Palace Hotel) to the venue	
09:00	Presentation and discussion – Team FRANCE	David SEILER Victoire RISSELET Myriam BARRY Tutor: Annick QUENIOUX-BIROT
10:15	Coffee break	
10:45	Presentation and discussion – Team CZECH REPUBLIC	Klára HEGEROVÁ Žaneta HOBLÍKOVÁ Zuzana BRZOBOHATÁ Tutor: Tereza VALEŠOVÁ
12:00	Lunch	
13:00	Presentation and discussion – Team ITALY	Giovanni VERARDI Noemi GENOVESE Martina BIANCHI Tutor: Giuseppe BUFFONE
14:15	Coffee-break	
14:30	Presentation and discussion – Team PORUGAL II	Ricardo Luís QUINTAS Rita Martins FONSECA Rafaela de Aragão PIMENTA Tutor: Chandra GRACIAS
15:45	End of Day 2 Jury deliberation	
16:45	16:00 - Departure from the venue to the beach (Melissa Seaside Bar) EXCURSION TO THE BEACH	
10.43	EXCONSION TO THE BEACH	
21:00	Official Seminar Dinner Nea Diagonios Nikolaou Plastira 89 , Nea Krini, Θεσσαλονίκη 23:00 - Departure from the restaurant to the center	

Thurso	Thursday 9 MAY 2019			
09:15	Arrival and Registration of Participants 09:15 – Administrative Court of Thessaloniki			
		Administrative Court of Thessaloniki		
10:00	Awards Ceremony	Jury members:		
		Petros ALIKAKOS Maarja TORGA		
		Adrienn VÁRAI-JEGES		
12:00	Closing ceremony	Arno VINKOVIC, EJTN		
13:00	End of the Semi-final B			

JURY MEMBERS

Petros ALIKAKOS (GR)

Judge, National School of Judiciary

Maarja TORGA (EE)

Judicial Advisor at the Estonian Supreme Court, Professor at University of Tartu, Faculty of Law

Adrienn VÁRAI-JEGES (HU)

Judge, Hungarian Academy of Justice

